Still stuck on cinnamon…

May 17, 2010 at 1:46 am Leave a comment

I seem to be stuck on some sort of a cinnamon kick!  I see that my last few posts have all been cinnamon related.  I think my husband has influenced my recent baking trials.  I’m more of a chocolate person and he likes cinnamon.  I really was going to make some chocolate chip muffins and somehow that turned into this Cinnamon Muffin Bread.  Hehe.
I’m not complaining though, it is really good!

I combined a couple of recipes to come up with this one.  It is basically a vanilla cakey muffin with a bit of a cinnamon center and a crumb crust.  All my favorite things about a muffin!

Cinnamon Muffin Bread

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup Splenda sugar substitute
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour

Crumb Topping
4 tablespoons cold butter
1/2 cup all purpose flour
4 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350℉. Lightly grease bottom of a 8.5 x 4.5 x 2.5 inch bread pan or 12 standard size muffin tins.

2. Beat together butter, sugar, baking powder, salt, vanilla until fluffy. Beat in eggs, then stir in milk. Mix in flour until just combined.

3. Place 3/4 of batter into prepared loaf pan or muffin tin. With remaining batter stir in 1 teaspoon cinnamon till combined. Place into a line at the center of the loaf pan and swirl with knife. Or add by spoonful to each muffin tin.

4. Prepare crumb topping by combining butter, flour, brown sugar and cinnamon with a fork or by hand until large crumbs form. Spread evenly over top of loaf or muffins.

5. Bake loaf for about 60 minutes and muffins for about 30 minutes or until cake tester instered into the center comes out without crumbs clinging to it. Allow to cool for 10 – 20 minutes before removing from pan.

Let me know if you try it!

Entry filed under: Muffin.

failing miserably… Sun Dried Tomato Chicken

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,421 hits

Handmade Cards for Sale

My homemade cards

my other blog


