one perfect pancake

August 1, 2010 at 8:00 am Leave a comment

What a perfect morning… it is cloudy (not quite raining, sure wish it would) and I have a cup of steaming hot coffee and one perfect pancake!

Yip, ONE perfect pancake.

I love pancakes, but rarely do I make them.  I only need one.  I don’t need a large recipe.  I don’t freeze them.  I just want ONE!  So, I rarely get one, unless we go out for breakfast to our local cafe.  But I found a better pancake than the cafe, a much better pancake and there is only one.

Recently on Joy the Baker, she had a recipe for The Single Lady Pancake and I think I fell in love with her.  What a glorious and genius idea.  She described it as a single indulgent, hearty pancake and that is just what I want!!!

So here is my adaptation of her recipe to include the things I love.  I like a simple pancake, but I have also included some optional mix-ins.

One Perfect Pancake

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon rolled oats (quick or regular)
1 teaspoon sugar
1 heaping teaspoon malted milk powder (optional, you could replace with 1 teaspoon sugar)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/3 cup soymilk (other options: regular, almond, buttermilk, any will work)
splash of vanilla extract
dash of cinnamon
1/2 tablespoon butter

Optional mix-ins (small handful of…)

mini chocolate chips
finely chopped walnuts or pecans
blueberries
banana

1. In small bowl, combine flour, oats, sugar, malted milk powder, baking powder, baking soda and salt well. Create a well in center and add oil, milk, vanilla and cinnamon to well. Start by stirring liquid ingredients together and gently combine with dry ingredients until just combined. Gently fold in any mix-ins. Do not over mix. Batter will be on the thicker side.

2. Heat a small frying pan over medium heat. Melt butter in pan. Once melted, add batter to pan and smooth out. Cook over medium heat until lots of bubbles form and begin to pop.

3. Flip this gorgeous pancake. Cook until golden brown. This is a thick pancake so make sure you give it plenty of time to cook through. Remove from pan and onto plate. Top with some more butter and maple syrup (or as you please). Yum.

Entry filed under: Breakfast.

Sun Dried Tomato Chicken Way better than Top Ramen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 2,421 hits

Handmade Cards for Sale

My homemade cards

my other blog


