1.24.2011 – Multi-grain 100% Whole Wheat

January 24, 2011 at 8:20 am 3 comments

I am super excited about this bread.  It is my first EVER 100% whole wheat bread.  Up to this point, I have always mixed in some {bad} white flour.  Why?  Because whole wheat has a tendency to be very bitter and MUCH denser.  I absolutely adore multi-grain WW bread and I finally bit the bullet and gave it a shot.

A long time ago, I was fortunate to win the Artisan Breads Every Day book by Peter Reinhart.  Now, I am no bread expert, by any means, but I did start a very obsessive and intensely crazy quest to be one more than a year ago.  Ha.  That hasn’t happened.  In fact, my poor little starter hasn’t been used in over a year.  I’m sorry Harvey, but at least I still keep you fed.  The only thing I keep making are english muffins with the extra starter.

Anyhoo, my first attempt at a recipe from this amazing book is the Every Day 100% Whole Wheat Sandwich bread.  As I said, I’m no expert and have a feeling I really over worked and over floured this bread.  But it is very forgiving so I ended up with a nice little loaf anyway.  I added some multi-grain cereal, pepitas and sunflower seeds to the mix.  Just some of my favorite things in a bread.

I love peanut butter sandwiches and this provided the perfect bread.  It is quite soft, light and airy for a wheat bread.  Almost Wonder bread soft.  Mmmmmmm.

Entry filed under: Bread.

12.28.2010 – Cinnamon Walnut Carrot Loaf 4.10.2011 Lemon Scented Pull Apart Bread

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. angie blom  |  January 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

    oh it looks so delicious Lisa.. wow wonder bread soft this is good. I am going to have to give this a try. yum yum!!

    Reply
  • 2. mary beth  |  January 24, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I would love to make this bread, you do not give the recipes out on you’re blog????? Thank you, Mary Beth

    Reply
    • 3. dahlhouse designs  |  January 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Hi Mary Beth, I did not on this one since it came from a cook book… wasn’t sure if it was my right.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 2,639 hits

Handmade Cards for Sale

My homemade cards

my other blog